A letter to me…6 months later.

Dear me:

Well, hello there. How YOU doin?

(said in your most Joey-from-Friends Italian voice possible. Giggle).

It’s June 2011. It’s been six months since your first day at the new job.

You started out confident, I’m proud of you.

You tested your chops at first, and then just let ‘er rip (because you need to, especially before your boss went on maternity leave in April).

You had some big rocks. And you had some failures (but those were good learning experiences).

You flew to California. A lot.

Like, 12 times. At least. (but at least you hung out with fun bloggy friends a lot, too)

And you took a trip to Mexico with M in February, and it was amazing. Just what you needed to recoup (and get some sun. And you worked hard so you felt good in that bathing suit. Give yourself some credit).

You realized that although it seemed so hard at first. The constant travel. The week-long trips away from your family, your cats and M. It took a toll on you, but also on M. But he supported you through it, even when it was hard.

And you had some fun, too. Figuring it out along the way, and letting go just a little bit more. Putting that game face on and realizing that you’re no longer ‘faking it’ but you’re makin’ it. You are strong, confident and know your shit.

You did it.

You stayed uncomfortable probably 99% of the time. But it pushed you to succeed.

I knew you had it in you, even when you wanted to cry on your third day of work because you were tired, homesick, and feeling stretched.

You’re there. You got this.

Signed,

Me

(the overthinker-who-loves-her-routine-yet-let-it-go-just-a-wee-bit-and-realized-it’s-not-so-bad-and-you-can-always-make-a-new-routine)

30 thoughts on “A letter to me…6 months later.

  1. Awwee… Xoxoxo Love you, girl πŸ™‚ Sorry you had an overwhelming day. I’m sure tomorrow will go better, and next time you’re feeling overwhelmed, SPEAK UP so I can tell you: “it’s in the bag, baby!” πŸ˜‰

    P.S. I just said “How YOU doin’?” out loud like 10 times and I’m ashamed to say that I sound like a total reject.

    1. XOXO! Thank you! I know, I will, next time. It was more last night when I was starting to feel homesick and that overwhelmed feeling was coming back!

  2. You’ve absolutely got this.

    Sorry you had an overwhelming day. Those happen in the beginning of any job, but you know what? Some day this job won’t be new anymore. πŸ™‚

    **hugs**

  3. LOVE LOVE LOVE this sis, how cool to think that this letter will no doubt become real in June!! I think we need to plan a big ‘ol party at that point to celebrate our uncomfortable past six months- we’ll have earned it!! I am so damn proud of you!!!

    1. I think you need a letter too πŸ™‚ And yea, I say let’s part-ay come June (so much to celebrate that month anyway, I’m thinking…and hellooo vegas!)

  4. I love how even when things aren’t completely hunky dory in your life, you always see the positive. It’s totally refreshing, and inspiring. You send out an amazing vibe and I love it. Major props to you, girl! πŸ™‚

    1. Haha was the overthink thing supposed to make me laugh or were you serious? πŸ˜‰ I am overthinking but not, if that makes any sense?! πŸ™‚

  5. New jobs are always tough to start with. You have to give yourself a good three to six months to adjust so I like the date of this letter. The travel will become part of routine …. even the next trip will be easier than this one.

    1. You’re right, even the next trip really will! And I figure three months would be more suitable if my job didn’t also require all the travel, so six felt right πŸ™‚

  6. LOVE this idea. I might have to steal it, though……I will admit I’m afraid what I write won’t happen. 😦 I’m trying to be optimistic but just don’t want to disappoint myself….ya know? With that said, I DO think this is a great idea and way to focus on getting through challenging times – knowing that, in the end, we’ll look back and know everything turned out okay and happened for a reason. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to revisit this in 6 months!

Leave a Reply

