2011…the year of…new.

2010 was what I called the ‘year of me’ and well, it REALLY was, in so many ways. I managed to meet most, if not all, of my resolutions for 2010:

  • Run a half marathon – CHECK! This was one of the hardest things I have ever done mentally. I am debating on another in 2011, but honestly, I have not had a good run since the race. That concerns me. However, see #2 below for 2011.
  • Continue being uncomfortable – CHECK! Getting out of my comfort zone is hard for me, but whenever I step out of it, I learn so much and it’s always worth it. Enter new job starting January 3 – goodbye comfort zone!
  • Find love again – CHECK! CHECK! CHECK! Honestly, when I included this as a resolution for 2010, I had every doubt in the world that it would happen. Though it’s taken (almost) three years or so since my divorce began in 2008, I’ve found it in M and every day I pinch myself.
  • Make my blog ‘me’ – this one gets a half-check. I wanted to transition to a self-hosted blog, and in that way, I failed. But, I give myself a half-check because I moved to this beautiful new blog, chronicling the ‘me, anew.’

For 2011? I have so many things I want to accomplish, so it’s hard for me to narrow it down to just a few, but here goes…

  • Be a better saver. Now that I have a new job that pays substantially more, I will have much more ability to save. I want to get back to where I used to be, financially (at least in terms of my savings account, because I made even less when I was married). I want to save. I want to get rid of my credit cards (only have a few with less than 1K total, which is good, but that adds up each month!). I would like to buy another house in the next two years. I miss being a homeowner. I have the itch.
  • Learn to swim…so I can do a triathlon. I don’t know how to swim. Legit. At 31. I know, it’s crazy. But I don’t know how. But I TOTALLY want to do a triathlon (with Ronda, hopefully, and Jess!). My goal is to learn to swim – good – by June, so I can practice all summer at the lake in Maine and do the tri in the fall. We’ll see…because if not, I want to…
  • Run (another) half marathon. This one scares the pants off me. I loved training all summer leading into the half, but once it got to game day, I think I panicked as I had the worst run of my life. But I’m keeping it on the list for now. In pencil.
  • Re-do my routine. See this post. This. IS A MUST.
  • Love myself more. I struggle with confidence in many areas, including body image, and I would like – once and for all – to have far less “fat days” and days where I just am not happy with myself. I think this is a mindset change more than anything. And putting it on my list will hopefully give me the motivation (and constant reminder) to change my bad habits for good.

And a few fun ones? Go back to wine country (hell yes this is on the list!), go to Mexico with M (also on the list, I hope!), and enjoy every single minute of Maine this summer.

I look forward to 2011 even more than I looked forward to 2010. It’s been a kick ass year, truly the year of me, but I look forward to 2011 as the year of “new.” Bring it!

Cheers friends, as I know 2011 has so much in store for all of us.

33 thoughts on “2011…the year of…new.

  1. Heres to a wonderful 2011 for you! It’s going to be a great year, I like your goals for 2011. I think my goals for 2011 will be to give up diet coke, work my abs at least once a week, stress less about the small stuff. I’m liking the fun ones of going to wine country, I’d like that!! A trip to Mexico with M sounds wonderful.

  2. Sounds like some awesome goals!! I really want to do more running this year…a half marathon as well, perhaps? I dunno. I find that having a definite goal really helps get me out there.

    Good luck with learning how to swim! It’s awesome that you’re going for it. πŸ™‚

    1. Goals definitely help me too, good drivers. Hey, we can start up our #rundate ritual again on Twitter once it’s warm enough to run outside. Deal?! πŸ™‚

  3. I have big plans for the year. Can’t wait to share my list tomorrow. And just look at all we’ve accomplished over the past year. What is even more important is that we always continue to strive and grow.

    Can’t wait to see what 2011 holds for us.

    Big hugs!

    1. Happy New Year to you too! You can’t swim either?! Phew. Glad I’m not the only one, and it’s just so sad since we live near the water, right?!

  4. I too have also taken up running! Isn’t it great when you have a really good run, but also so discouraging and frustrating when you have a bad one. Good luck on learning how to swim – it’s a full body workout and can be so relaxing when you get it. Happy 2011 – I’m excited to see what happens for you….

  5. I did send you links to my swimming training, right? Because that’s where I was when I decided to do a triathlon too. And, as you mentioned with your half marathon, I did them but they still scare the pants off of me. I’d like to do another one but… eeesh. It takes a lot of time for training too. We’ll see.

    I’m excited to see what 2011 brings. Happy New Year!

    1. You did! I will be rereading them (are they still available?) as I get closer to training for that. And yes, the half scares the crap out of me still, but we’ll see what 2011 brings! Happy New Year!

  6. Love this, sis. The year of “new” suits you well. I’ve decided 2011 for me can be defined by the word “jump” As in jumping into things a little bit less cautiously and seeing where it takes me/us. Regardless, this is gonna be a killer year, I’m sure of it!! Can’t wait to celebrate it with you tonight sis!

  7. You had a great year around! I can’t believe you don’t know how to swim – guess I just assume everyone can do that these days. That was one of the things my mum learned to do in her late fifties – she’d been in the Women’s Royal Naval and even they hadn’t managed to teach her !!

    I’ll be publishing my post about my goals tomorrow but I’m keeping it real simple. I think having too many goals makes it easy for me to get distracted – I get a lot done but it’s not necessarily the important stuff. And the other reason for keeping it simple, honestly I’m tired of being bombarded about constantly improving yourself … I’m working on ignoring those messages, being mellow and enjoying the journey.

    Happy new year to you,

    1. Yea, I know, swimming is like the root of childhood, in many ways, I don’t know why it never ‘stuck.’ I am looking forward to reading your goals for 2011 as well! Happy New Year!

  8. Out of all the goals you list, that one that struck me as the most lofty and challenging was ‘continue to feel uncomfortable’. Wow!

    Certainly one that I have embraced before but without the tenacity and vigor that I should have. But this being a new brass ring to reach for, I will again achieve taking many more chances and look forward to reading how you also break new ground in your own quest.

    The best of great achievements for you in 2011!

    1. I guess it is pretty lofty huh? It’s a tough one, because I hate being out of my comfort zone but always ALWAYS learn so much, so it’s worth it. Glad you are as well! Happy new year!

  9. Great list of what you’ve accomplished in 2010 and what you hope to accomplish in 2011! I bet that you’ll love swimming and will rock a tri! Is it June yet ;)? xoxo

  10. i first read this post a few days ago and the “be uncomfortable” part of it has really stuck with me. in fact, i’ve even had that discussion with my RL friends as we broaden ourselves and try new ventures. thanks for the inspiration!

    1. Hi there! Thanks for the visit! And wow, so awesome that it stuck with you and you are thinking about it as well! That is so so cool! I feel honored πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

