“So, take a chance…and never look back”

In the words of Katy Perry (okay, so what, I love her music, I admit!), “so, take a chance and never look back.”

Today is my last day at my job.

After 8 and a half years, it feels scary, yet exhilarating. It probably won’t really hit me until next week, as I fly out to California for my first week of orientation and training.Β  This job is completely out of my comfort zone in many ways (the somewhat extensive travel, for one), but familiar in others (similar job, but not at an agency, and I’ve worked with this company before). What I look forward to most is starting fresh…shedding the “perceptions” that have haunted followed me over the years (that I’m shy, which yes, I can be, but that doesn’t define me, not at all. That I’m not overly assertive…I can be, but sometimes haven’t been given the opportunity, etc.), and coming in strong, confident (even if I have to ‘fake it’ at first) and as a leader.

The feeling is almost akin to starting at a new school, where nobody knows you, and you can create your own persona, shedding how you were ‘seen’ in the past, so people see the REAL you, and not the you they “think” you are.

I’m excited about that, probably almost more than anything.

I’m looking forward to the next step in my career and moving past the stagnation I’ve felt for the past few years, in particular, and learning, developing, and growing.

I’m looking forward to meeting new people, traveling to new places, and well, working from home, too.

I’m looking forward to facing new challenges, being scared sometimes, and knowing that I can do it. Because I am strong. Because I know my shit. Because I’m smart.

Looking back?

I was 22, fresh out of college, and wide-eyed. I had been with my ex-husband for two years, as boyfriend and girlfriend. I celebrated an engagement at my job. I celebrated getting married at my job. I celebrated buying a house at my job. Conversely, I hid my separation behind closed doors…often crying in my office and praying nobody would walk by. It finally trickled out, and once I got divorced (going through it with a dear friend and co-worker at the time, as she too, was getting divorced), I felt able to face the world again.I’ve faced a lot while at my job, work-wise and personally, so of course, this place holds a warm spot in my heart. But it also represents some struggles I’ve had, so in that way, I look forward to moving on, finally, after so long.

I leave my job at 31, strong, independent, happy, and in a loving relationship. I took a job that many probably didn’t think I had the guts for. But guess what? I guess I do.

And I’m ready to bring it.

…”so, take a chance…and never look back.”

~~

My horoscope, sent to me yesterday, by M – echoes my thoughts exactly.

Today you should get an early glimpse of what 2011 could hold for you, Libra. If you are hoping to enjoy a little added excitement in the coming year, you’ll be pleased to know that you’re going to get your wish. Although we’re now winding down through the last few days of 2010, you should already be future-oriented and thinking ahead to the achievements you hope to make. You may be feeling quite ambitious. You need to make a conscious effort to maintain this mindset, because the world is yours if you keep your eye on the prize.

26 thoughts on ““So, take a chance…and never look back”

  1. What a wonderful way to start a new year off…actually moving forward and changing things. It’s so easy to say we’re comfortable or content instead of admitting when we’re stagnant and doing something about it. Kudos to you for moving forward boldly into the next phase of your life, and God bless! πŸ˜€

  2. Wow! So many things you went through at that job! It’s good to have those memories of that place but at the same time will be so great to have a fresh start! It’s all about new beginnings.

  3. LOVE “our” horoscope, sis. Very fitting. And also – don’t ever second-guess your “guts” – they are there and have been out big time this year. Don’t sell yourself short!

  4. The biggest payoffs come from the biggest risks I think. I know 2011 is going to be an exciting year for you. Good luck on your new job!!! Can’t wait to read all about it.

  5. I too liked changing a job to leave behind previous determinations of my skills, abilities. I was pigeon-holed in my current role with no opportunity to grow due to my department being outside the core business of the organization. There I saw my engagement, my wedding and my subsequent divorce. Finding a new more challenging role at an organization where I can grow…and allowed me to go home. A true blessing. I wish you the best.

  6. Love that horoscope! Best wishes at your new job, you’ll do great! 2011 sounds like it’s going to be a wonderful year for you!! Can’t wait to read all about it. πŸ™‚ Ps- everyone fakes being confident at work! (Everyone I know, at least!)

    -Katherine in GA

  7. I hadn’t realized that you’d been at your old job since college. 8 1/2 years is a very long time, especially for people in your (our?) age group. Congrats on taking a chance and trying something new and exciting! xoxo

Leave a Reply

