Routine redefined.

“Slow down and enjoy the journey”

The words of Joel Osteen that (once again) are putting some shape to my thoughts on redefining routine for myself in 2011.

Judging from the bevy of comments on this post, I take away some things that I want to take into consideration to redefine my routine for 2011, since we all know it will change completely come January 3 (hello new job!), in particular.

…routine doesn’t have to mean regimented.

…life doesn’t give a shit about my routine, so sometimes it’s *okay* to let life happen.

…letting go of routine doesn’t mean loss of stability or control (and what’s wrong with letting some of that go sometimes, too?)

…I can have my routine and let M in too. Doesn’t mean I have to let go of one, to have the other. It’s about embracing each other’s routine and adapting.

…prioritize the most important parts of routine and let go of the rest sometimes. Doesn’t mean all or nothing.

…life is short, don’t take for granted those in your life in favor of routine (this goes back to ‘life doesn’t give a shit about my routine’).

…and finally? wipe the routine slate clean, it’s a new year, let’s start fresh.

I couldn’t agree more or thank you all for your varying degrees of some similar themes. I can’t take for granted what I have in favor of routine…it’s okay to slow down sometimes and just enjoy it, rather than worrying about that missed workout or cleaning the house, or whatever it may be.

Routine? Well, I’ll still have it, but it’ll just need some redefining in spots. And that’s okay.

~~

Life is going to fly into high gear come January 3, as I fly out to Costa Mesa for a week of training and orientation at my new job, and I just need to realize that my life is going to look completely different than it has in the last few years (hell, the last 8 1/2 work-wise!) and I need to be okay with that.

It’s going to be scary.

It’s going to be exhilerating.

It’s going to be lonely, at times (but hopefully not too bad if I can meet up with friends like Erika, Lil Devil Mama and Misty!).

It’s going to be hard.

But it’s going to be worth it because it’s taking me out of my comfort zone and into a new challenge.

Routine, be damned. (whether I like it or not!).

Bring it.

 

29 thoughts on “Routine redefined.

  1. I’m SO excited for this!! There’s nothing I love more than a fresh start! I love to change things up, there’s just something rejuvinating about it. Can’t wait to hear about your new job and how exciting that you get to meet more blogger friends in person!! Yay for that!

  2. Good for you! The New Year + new job + (somewhat) new relationship = perfect time to shake up your old routine! Even if you don’t totally reinvent the wheel, I bet that you’ll find a better balance. xoxo

    1. Aw thank you T. What a supportive comment despite just reading your post and knowing it’s a rough patch at the moment! I’ll gladly share any inspiration I can!! 2011 is going to kick ass. I know it. For all of us!

  3. Call/text me when you come out!! I’m looking forward to it!! That’s a good week, too, before I start school.

    I will say, you are a stronger person than I am for willingly altering the routine. I feel safe in mine (can we say OCD?) and totally out of control when it is out of whack, like it is right now.

    1. I am SO into my routine it’s a little ridiculous at this point!! I definitely will call or text you (gotta dig up your number from my emails, but I will!)

  4. …life doesn’t give a shit about my routine, so sometimes it’s *okay* to let life happen. — THAT is so awesome. So so so true!!! Something I know I could work on too.

    This upcoming year is going to be so exciting for you. I just know it. πŸ™‚

    1. isn’t that awesome!? Wish I could take credit for that quote, but it was someone’s comment on my previous post on the topic of routine. I love it though! This year is shaping up to be a goodie, for many of us, you included πŸ™‚

  5. I think the new job will work out really well for you. I think it’s always a bit scary starting a new job and wondering what lies ahead. I was like that when I started my new job in March, once I got into a pattern and routine, I loved it. Lucky you going to Costa Mesa in California ( I was out there when I worked in a summer camp years ago). It’s a nice place, you’ll love it.

    1. Yea, I just really need to get into a new groove, ya know? I think it’ll be a good change! I am excited for Costa Mesa, it is beautiful out there! Quintessential California!

  6. I love fresh starts! This is your chance to start over in a way and make your life *even* better. Can’t wait to read about the awesomeness that it brings!

Leave a Reply

