On the eve of Christmas…

I feel pretty damn happy. A few reasons why…

My niece…

I spent part of the afternoon cuddling with my niece, Isabel. I love seeing her grow and ‘find her voice’ (her squawking and cooing and ‘yelling’ was so freaking adorable), as she laid on my chest face-out watching TV with us (intently, I might add, to the Food Network!), and even using my finger to suck on rather than her own (and seriously, that was the cutest thing e-ver!).

M…

I put the finishing touch on his Christmas gifts (will share what I got him later, post-reaction!) by making a key to my place and tucking it into his card. He gave me keys to his place at least a month ago and I keep meaning to give him a key to mine, but thought this would be a great ‘touch’ to the card and signal towards how I feel about him. I adore him. Everything about him. Truly in love.

My family…

I’ll see most of my family over the next few days, and my ‘adopted’ in-laws (my sister Jess’s in-laws, who have taken me under their wing over the last couple of years), and I can’t wait to spend time with them, laugh with them, eat with them, and yes, drink wine with them. It feels like one of the best holidays to come is on tap, and on the eve of it all, I’m feeling blessed.

I wish you all the best over the holidays, with your families, loved ones, and friends. Eat, drink, be merry, and last but not least, drink in the moments, sear them in your memory, and just smile.

I know I will be.

“Life is not a matter of milestones…but of moments.”

20 thoughts on “On the eve of Christmas…

  1. That’s exciting you’re giving your key to M. Looking forward to hearing what he gets you for Christmas. Hope you have a great Christmas. Off to celebrate Christmas Eve with my family tomorrow and then I’ll get home late and watch Love Actually. Love watching that movie at Christmas time. Have a wonderful Christmas.

  2. Aw so sweet! I especially like the niece part because I have 3 of them. They are my heart. Enjoy every moment!

Leave a Reply

